Swapinfo!

Problemen, swaps, tuning, inlaten, versnellingsbak, uitlaten, etc.
Gebruikersavatar
kamelenjager
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 7265
Lid geworden op: 01-04-06 10:54

Swapinfo!

Bericht door kamelenjager » 18-05-09 11:53

Bron: http://honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=1842905" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Since I saw this post on here like 3 times tonite I wanted to make a reference post to send people too so the same info doesn't clog up the board all the time. Feel free to correct or add and I'll add it to the original post to not clog this post up:

OBD0 motor into OBD1 car

Method 1

1. Use OBD1-0 ECU adaptor harness with PR3 ECU
2 Use OBD1-0 distributor adaptor harness or swap plugs over from your OBD1 distributor to the OBD0's distributor
3. Add resistor box and solder the OBD0 injector plugs onto the OBD1 harness and use the OBD0 injectors
4. Use OBD0 B16A header and two 1 wire O2 sensors or OBD1/2 header and weld in two O2 bungs
5. If not an EX or Si run wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch and Knock sensor (you'll have to add knock sensor regardless what model it is).

Method 2

1. Use OBD1 ECU (P28 chipped, P72 chipped, P30)
2. Use a B16a or B18C distributor (can't use OBD0 dizzy with an OBD1 ECU)
3. Use some OBD1 injectors from anything but a CX or VX hatch
4. Use a OBD1/2 B16A header
5 If not an EX or Si run wiring for the VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch, and knock sensor (you'll have to add knock sensor regardless what model it is), Also if you car is a CX model you will have to add wiring for a 4 wire O2 sensor.

OBD0 motor into OBD2 car

Method 1

1. Use OBD2-0 ECU adaptor harness with PR3 ECU
2 Use OBD2-0 distributor adaptor harness or swap plugs over from your OBD2 distributor to the OBD0's distributor
3. Add resistor box and solder the OBD0 injector plugs onto the OBD2 harness and use the OBD0 injectors
4. Use OBD0 B16A header and two 1 wire O2 sensors or OBD1/2 header and weld in two O2 bungs
5. If not an EX or Si run wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch and Knock sensor (you'll have to add knock sensor regardless what model it is)
6. Convert over plug on your OBD0 dynamo to the OBD2 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

Method 2

1. Use OBD2-1 ECU adaptor and use P28 chipped, P72 chipped, P30 or P72 for B18C/C1 motors
2. Use an OBD1 B16a or B18C distributor with an OBD2-1 distributor adaptor or convert the plugs from your cars distributor over to the OBD1 distributor
3. Use OBD2 injectors from your vehicle
4. Use a OBD1/2 B16A header
5 If not an EX or Si (99-00) run wiring for the VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch, and knock sensor (you'll have to add knock sensor unless it is an SI).
6. If you have an auto car or a non VTEC model you will have to wire in for a 2 wire IACV as your's is a 3 wire.
7. Convert over plug on your OBD0 dynamo to the OBD2 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

Method 3

1. Use an OBD2 ECU P2T from a 99-00 SI
2. Use OBD2 distributor from a B18C1 or B16A2, or an OBD1 dizzy from a B16A/B18C1 either swapping over the plugs or using a dizzy adaptor, can't use OBD0 dizzys on OBD2 ECU's
3. Use the OBD2 injectors from your engine
4. Use an OBD1/2 header
5. If not an EX or Si (99-00) run wiring for the VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch, and knock sensor (you'll have to add knock sensor unless it is an SI).
6. If you have an auto car or a non VTEC model you will have to wire in for a 2 wire IACV as your's is a 3 wire.
7. You'll also need to trick the CKF at the ECU so the ECU won't throw a code (http://www.ff-squad.com/technet/ckftrick.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)
8. Convert over plug on your OBD0 dynamo to the OBD2 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

OBD1 engine into OBD0 car

Method 1

1. Use OBD0 ECU PR3/PWO
2. You must use an OBD0 distibutor with the PR3 ECU from an OBD0 B16A
3. Use OBD0 injectors from an SI/EX
4. Use OBD0 B16A header and weld in bungs for 2 O2's
5. Add wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch, knock sensor, and 2nd O2. For B18C1 engines you must either use a Skunk2 type manifold or find a way to make a switched ground switch to open the IAB's.

Method 2

1. Use OBD1 ECU with an OBD0-1 ECU harness
2. Use OBD1 distributor with OBD0-1 dizzy harness or swap plugs over from your cars distributor to the OBD1 distributor (EX/SI/HF/all integra models only)
3. Use OBD0 injector but you must keep the injector resistor box or use the OBD1 injectors (solder OBD1 plugs onto the OBD0 harness) and eliminate the injector box.
4. Use OBD1/2 B16A header
5. Add wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch, knock sensor, and 2nd O2. For B18C1 engines you must either use a Skunk2 type manifold or find a way to make a switched ground switch to open the IAB's.

Method 3

1. You can use an OBD2 ECU but I won't go into it because most people don't go this way.

OBD2 motor into OBD0 car

Method 1

1. Use OBD0 ECU PR3/PWO
2. You must use an OBD0 distibutor with the PR3 ECU from an OBD0 B16A
3. Use OBD0 injectors from an SI/EX
4. Use OBD0 B16A header and weld in bungs for 2 O2's
5. Add wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch, knock sensor, and 2nd O2. For B18C1 engines you must either use a Skunk2 type manifold or find a way to make a switched ground switch to open the IAB's.
6. Convert over plug on your OBD2 dynamo to the OBD0 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

Method 2

1. Use OBD1 ECU with an OBD0-1 ECU harness
2. Use OBD2 distributor with OBD0-2 dizzy harness or swap plugs over from your cars distributor to the OBD2 distributor (EX/SI/HF/all integra models only)
3. Use OBD0 injector but you must keep the injector resistor box or use the OBD2 injectors (solder OBD1 plugs onto the OBD0 harness) and eliminate the injector box.
4. Use OBD1/2 B16A header
5. Add wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch, knock sensor, and 2nd O2. For B18C1 engines you must either use a Skunk2 type manifold or find a way to make a switched ground switch to open the IAB's.
6. Convert over plug on your OBD2 dynamo to the OBD0 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

Method 3

1. You can use an OBD2 ECU but I won't go into it because most people don't go this way.

OBD0 motor into OBD2 car

Method 1
1. Use OBD2-0 ECU adaptor harness with PR3 ECU
2 Use OBD2-0 distributor adaptor harness or swap plugs over from your OBD2 distributor to the OBD0's distributor
3. Add resistor box and solder the OBD0 injector plugs onto the OBD2 harness and use the OBD0 injectors
4. Use OBD0 B16A header and two 1 wire O2 sensors or OBD1/2 header and weld in two O2 bungs
5. If not an EX or Si run wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch and Knock sensor (you'll have to add knock sensor on any other models)
6. If your vehicle is an auto or non VTEC you'll have to convert over to a two wire O2
7. Convert over plug on your OBD0 dynamo to the OBD2 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

Method 2

1. Use OBD1 ECU (P28 chipped, P72 chipped, P30)
2. Use a B16a or B18C distributor (can't use OBD0 dizzy with an OBD1 ECU)
3. Use some OBD1 injectors and solder OBD1 plugs onto the OBD2 harness or use your OBD2 injectors
4. Use a OBD1/2 B16A header
5 If not an EX or Si run wiring for the VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch, and knock sensor (you'll have to add knock sensor on any other models),
6. If your vehicle is an auto or non VTEC you'll have to convert over to a two wire O2
7. Convert over plug on your OBD0 dynamo to the OBD2 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

OBD1 motor into OBD2 car

Method 1

1. Use an OBD2-1 ECU harness with a P28 chipped, P30, or P72 for B18C1
2. Use either an OBD1 B16A distributor with an OBD2-1 dizzy adaptor or swap plugs from your OBD2 dizzy over to the OBD1 dizzy or use a OBD2 dizzy from a B16A or B18C
3. Use your OBD2 injectors
4. Use an OBD1/2 header
5. If not an SI or EX run wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch and knock sensor (you'll have to run knock sensor on any other models). On B18C1 you'll have to wire up for IAB's also.
6. If your vehicle is an auto or non VTEC you'll have to convert over to a two wire O2
7. Convert over plug on your OBD0 dynamo to the OBD2 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

Method 2

1. Use a P2T ECU
2. Use either an OBD1 B16A distributor with an OBD2-1 dizzy adaptor or swap plugs from your OBD2 dizzy over to the OBD1 dizzy or use a OBD2 dizzy from a B16A or B18C
3. Use your OBD2 injectors
4. Use an OBD1/2 header
5. If not an SI or EX run wiring for VTEC solenoid, VTEC pressure switch and knock sensor (you'll have to run knock sensor on any other models). On B18C1 you'll have to wire up for IAB's also.
6. If your vehicle is an auto or non VTEC you'll have to convert over to a two wire O2
7. Convert over plug on your OBD0 dynamo to the OBD2 style (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v130/fobtions/alt.jpg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

Method 3

1. You can use an OBD0 ECU but is not recommended

Gebruikersavatar
kamelenjager
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 7265
Lid geworden op: 01-04-06 10:54

Bericht door kamelenjager » 19-05-09 11:10

Iemand die dit wil aanvullen met uitgebreide info over hoe een
B16A1 (obd0 - crx vtec) in een ED9 (D16Z5 / D16A9 -obd0) te zetten?

Burning Tyre
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 1987
Lid geworden op: 06-10-05 18:04
Locatie: Arnhem

Bericht door Burning Tyre » 19-05-09 12:10

kamelenjager schreef:Iemand die dit wil aanvullen met uitgebreide info over hoe een
B16A1 (obd0 - crx vtec) in een ED9 (D16Z5 / D16A9 -obd0) te zetten?
Inderdaad ik zoek ook info over een b serie swap in de d16A9, of zelfs een obd2 motor op obd1 in een d16a9 auto..


Eigenlijk zou ik ook genoeg moeten hebben aan de info over de B-serie swap van een d16a9, want die blijkt dus anders te zijn als D16Z5, maar wat is er dan precies anders? Iemand die hier meer details over weet..?

michael
2e monteur
2e monteur
Berichten: 162
Lid geworden op: 28-11-07 16:29
Locatie: oudewater
Contacteer:

Bericht door michael » 19-05-09 12:58

wat wil je weten.. ik heb het zelf in januari gedaan.. b16a1 in d16a9 auto..

pb me maar..
ED9 with B16 inside german style

Gebruikersavatar
Roblom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Berichten: 7521
Lid geworden op: 16-02-04 15:22
Locatie: Noord Holland
Contacteer:

Bericht door Roblom » 19-05-09 13:02

michael schreef:wat wil je weten.. ik heb het zelf in januari gedaan.. b16a1 in d16a9 auto..

pb me maar..
Als je die info nu hier plaatst dan heeft iedereen er wat aan.
Afbeelding

Gebruikersavatar
Orthello
Moderater
Berichten: 3892
Lid geworden op: 12-03-04 16:42
Locatie: 059x
Contacteer:

Bericht door Orthello » 19-05-09 13:58

Ik zal een even zien wat ik allemaal nog kan herinneren van mijn swap.... zo'n 4 a 5 jaar geleden.
Van de weg der minste weerstand, is alleen het begin geasfalteerd

Gebruikersavatar
Chieltje
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 5906
Lid geworden op: 01-01-07 20:05
Locatie: zuidwolde

Bericht door Chieltje » 19-05-09 14:18

B16a1 in ed9 (d16z5)

-Compleet B16a1 blok met inlaat + gasklep
-Dynamo ee8
-Kabelbak met startmotor
-Koppeling + vliegwiel B-serie
-Motorsteun bakzijde verlassen of swapmounts halen, HAsport ofzo..
-Uitlaatspruitstuk B-serie met 2 lambda's
-Motorkabelboom B16a1
-Ontsteking (obd0, standaard ee8/ee9)
-ECU ee8/ee9, PW0 geloof ik?
-ee8 radiateur met de 2 dikke koelvloeistofslangen
-Aandrijfassen, links/recht/tussenas ee8/ee9
-Schakelstangen ee8


Volgens mij heb zo wel zo'n beetje alles. Wat er nog verschillend is tussen het plaatsen van een B16a1 in een D16z5 wagen en een D16a9 dat weet ik niet..
Afbeelding
Waar een Dinges, is een weg!

Gebruikersavatar
Blut_VTEC
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 4403
Lid geworden op: 30-08-05 21:21
Locatie: Sint Nicolaasga

Bericht door Blut_VTEC » 19-05-09 14:49

Chieltje schreef:.. Wat er nog verschillend is tussen het plaatsen van een B16a1 in een D16z5 wagen en een D16a9 dat weet ik niet..
vaak houdt men met het swappen van een D16z5 naar b16a1 de originele kabelboom en plaatsen er 3 kabeltjes bij.
aangezien de d16a9 geen lambda heeft zou je bij die swap 4 kabeltjes moeten trekken.

Zou je de kabelboom van een B16a1 gebruiken, is er volgens mij geen verschil tussen z5 of a9 naar B16a1

Burning Tyre
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 1987
Lid geworden op: 06-10-05 18:04
Locatie: Arnhem

Bericht door Burning Tyre » 19-05-09 17:08

Blut_VTEC schreef:
Zou je de kabelboom van een B16a1 gebruiken, is er volgens mij geen verschil tussen z5 of a9 naar B16a1

Bedoel je dan de motorkabelboom of ook de interieurkabelboom?


Is het bijvoorbeeld een optie om de gehele ed9 kabelboom te gaan vervangen door de ee8 kabelboom?

Gebruikersavatar
mike ed9
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 8523
Lid geworden op: 30-07-07 20:16

Bericht door mike ed9 » 19-05-09 17:35

niet alle stekkers van een d16a9 motorkabelboom passen op een B16a1 toch?.. en bij een z5 wel dacht ik..
Afbeelding
Bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaap

Gebruikersavatar
Chieltje
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 5906
Lid geworden op: 01-01-07 20:05
Locatie: zuidwolde

Bericht door Chieltje » 20-05-09 15:38

Burning Tyre schreef:
Bedoel je dan de motorkabelboom of ook de interieurkabelboom?


Is het bijvoorbeeld een optie om de gehele ed9 kabelboom te gaan vervangen door de ee8 kabelboom?
De interieur kabelboom zou ik lekker laten zitten. Veel te veel werk om daar mee aan de slag te gaan..
Afbeelding
Waar een Dinges, is een weg!

michael
2e monteur
2e monteur
Berichten: 162
Lid geworden op: 28-11-07 16:29
Locatie: oudewater
Contacteer:

Bericht door michael » 21-05-09 14:12

inderdaad mike ed9 de stekker bij de veerpoot bestuurderszijde past niet. a9 heeft een rechthoekige en Z5 heeft ronde zoals aan de andere kant..

bij a9 moet je dan 5 kabels trekken want a9 heeft geen lambda en b16 heeft er 2

ook moet je alle draden van de sensoren meten en opschrijven want kleuren komen niet overeen.. (ook niet met werkplaatshandboek)
als je de hele kabelboom ontcijferd hebt.. links en rechts, moet je weten welke sensor in welke pinout van je ECU komt.. (nogmaals; kleuren komen niet overeen, interieur niet met motorkabelboom en motorkabelboom niet altijd met wphb)

ook gaan er draden die eerst op de ''veerpoot''stekker links de motorkabelboom in gingen nu rechts de boom in... en andersom..

voor precieze draadkleuren en sensordraden moet ik wel weer ff op mn kladblokkie kijken..
ED9 with B16 inside german style

Burning Tyre
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 1987
Lid geworden op: 06-10-05 18:04
Locatie: Arnhem

Bericht door Burning Tyre » 21-05-09 17:34

Chieltje schreef: De interieur kabelboom zou ik lekker laten zitten. Veel te veel werk om daar mee aan de slag te gaan..


Máar stel nou dat:

ik een ed9 met d16a9 heb.
en
een donor ee8 heb.

Uit de ee8 wil ik het dashboard, deurpanelen, electrische ramen & electrische spiegelgebeuren overzetten.

Zou het dan niet de moeite lonen om de gehele kabelboom door de auto te vervangen door de EE8 kabelboom, dat zou dan beter uitkomen met het dashboard, electrische ramen & spiegels en de motorswap zou dan makkelijker zijn.....?

Gebruikersavatar
mike ed9
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 8523
Lid geworden op: 30-07-07 20:16

Bericht door mike ed9 » 21-05-09 17:51

dat lijkt mij wel ja..
Afbeelding
Bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaap

Gebruikersavatar
Chieltje
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 5906
Lid geworden op: 01-01-07 20:05
Locatie: zuidwolde

Bericht door Chieltje » 21-05-09 18:01

Wel eens een interieurkabelboom gezien?

Ik zou er niet aan beginnen maar ik denk wel dat de manier die jij noemt de makkelijkste is..
Afbeelding
Waar een Dinges, is een weg!

Burning Tyre
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 1987
Lid geworden op: 06-10-05 18:04
Locatie: Arnhem

Bericht door Burning Tyre » 21-05-09 18:35

Chieltje schreef:Wel eens een interieurkabelboom gezien?

Ik zou er niet aan beginnen maar ik denk wel dat de manier die jij noemt de makkelijkste is..
Moet opzich wel te doen zijn. Het is zeker een hoop werk, maar als je interieur toch uit elkaar moet...

Afbeelding

Gebruikersavatar
RoadXY
Moderater
Berichten: 7776
Lid geworden op: 07-01-07 17:11
Locatie: Regio gorinchem
Contacteer:

Bericht door RoadXY » 21-05-09 19:43

Dit is alleen die van naar achter.

Haal alle apparaten eruit onder je dash en je kan er zo bij. Appeltje eitje.
Je bent wel een paar uurtjes zoet maar je hebt gelijk bedrading voor elektrische ramen en spiegels!

Gebruikersavatar
RoadXY
Moderater
Berichten: 7776
Lid geworden op: 07-01-07 17:11
Locatie: Regio gorinchem
Contacteer:

Bericht door RoadXY » 21-05-09 19:44

Oh en je wilt geen > '90 interieurkabelboom mixen met een < '90 dash kabelboom.
Dan ga je wel een paar uur zoet zijn met het alarmlicht!

Gebruikersavatar
Blut_VTEC
1e monteur
1e monteur
Berichten: 4403
Lid geworden op: 30-08-05 21:21
Locatie: Sint Nicolaasga

Bericht door Blut_VTEC » 22-05-09 08:49

Inderdaad,
als je je dash er toch helemaal uit trekt, doe dan de hele kabelboom van de ee8 erin, behalve de "rear wiring harnas" op bovenstaande plaatje.
is grote stekker vanaf je zekeringkast naar achteren , die plug je er zo weer in.

Tenzij je de tank van de ee8 ook overzet en je wilt het benzinelampje hebben. dan zou je die ook van de ee8 kunnen pakken. Persoonlijk vind ik dat te veel werk voor 1 lampje om dat ook allemaal om te zetten maar dat is je eigen keus.

Gebruikersavatar
RoadXY
Moderater
Berichten: 7776
Lid geworden op: 07-01-07 17:11
Locatie: Regio gorinchem
Contacteer:

Bericht door RoadXY » 22-05-09 19:34

Ik heb mijn tellerbak en benzinetank hier voor al omgebouwd.
Nu zelf nog 1 nieuwe draad trekken :roll:

Plaats reactie